Why does the Tractive GPS app request access to my contacts, camera, etc.?

In order to use the Tractive GPS app, you must give the app certain permissions. These permissions are essential for the basic operation of the app and tracker, and allow us to offer you the best GPS tracking experience possible. 

Identity: The app can find accounts on your device, and add or remove accounts. This is necessary so that we save your user account once you log in.

Contacts: This is used to retrieve your Tractive GPS account for login and synchronization on your device. Contacts are also used in case you want to share your tracker with a friend or family member. You can deny this permission on some devices.

Location: This is used to show you your location relative to your pet's in the Tractive GPS map view. 

Photos/Media/Files + Storage: The app can read, modify or delete the contents of your USB storage - this is required in order to upload and store photos of you and your pets on your phone. 

Camera: This permission is only necessary if you'd like to take a picture. 

Wi-Fi Connection Information: We use this permission to determine if you have a valid WiFi connection (so that we can show you a warning in case you do not). 

Other: Other permissions include:

  • read sync statistics
  • read sync settings
  • use accounts on the device
  • create accounts and set passwords
  • toggle sync on and off
  • read Google service configuration

These allow us to synchronize your data with our backend and are used to save your account details.

  • receive data from Internet
  • view network connections
  • full network access

These are basic internet permissions required for basic functionality of the app.

  • pair with Bluetooth devices
  • access Bluetooth settings

Using these Bluetooth permissions, we can enhance the quality of the GPS device.

  • draw over other apps

This permission is used for the device activation. 

  • control vibration

This enables vibrations with notifications from the Tractive GPS app.

  • prevent device from sleeping

This permission allows us to prevent your device from going on standby, anytime you are on the map screen of the app tracking your pet.

Sign up for the Tractive Newsletter

Join our pack and get pawsome updates: Unique membership discounts and fluffy tips for all parents!