PREMIUM Tracker Sharing: Share your dog or cat's location with a friend!

This feature is only available with a PREMIUM Tractive GPS subscription plan.

There are two ways to share your dog or cat's location position with another person. This might come in handy if you want a friend or family member to be able to track your dog, or if you'd like to give your dog walker or pet sitter access to the location of your four-legged family member.

 

Share by Link (Public Sharing)

With the Public Sharing feature, you can share the location of your furry friend with anyone - including those who do not have a Tractive GPS account. Keep in mind, everyone with the link can view your tracker's location with this option - but don't worry, you can cancel the public share at any time. 

Screenshot_2019-03-28_at_3.05.36_PM.png

 

How can I use the Public Link Sharing feature?

Simply access your Tractive GPS Public Sharing link in the Tractive GPS mobile or web app by following the steps below, then share the link with whomever you choose so that they can also check the whereabouts of your favorite four-legged friend.  

 

In the Tractive GPS mobile app:

  • Open the Tractive GPS app on your smartphone and in the Map view, select the pet you'd like to share (change pets by clicking on your pet's photo).
  • Then select Profile > Sharing
  • Then tap Create New Link.
  • You can now share the link with others.

 

In the Tractive GPS web app:

  • Sign into the Tractive GPS web app at my.tractive.com.
  • Click on the iimg.png  icon next to the desired pet/tracker to view the tracker settings.
  • Click Sharing then the Get shareable link button:Screenshot_2019-02-14_at_1.41.29_PM.jpg
  • Share the link with the friend of your choice.

 

What can the receiver of the share do? 

Once your friend has received the link, they'll be able to:

  • View the location of your pet.
  • Change the map type.

They will not have access to any of the other features of the Tractive GPS app.

 

Share by Email

Shares sent by email invite another user to view your dog or cat's position from within their Tractive GPS account. This is ideal for family and friends who will have regular access to your pet, to whom which you'd like to grant more permissions when it comes to viewing and tracking your pet in the app.

 

How can I use the Email Sharing feature?

In order to use this private sharing feature, please proceed as follows. Before getting started, make sure your friend has created an account at my.tractive.com or in the Tractive GPS mobile app.

 

In the Tractive GPS mobile app:

  • Open the Tractive GPS app on your smartphone and in the Map view, select the pet you'd like to share (change pets by clicking on your pet's photo).
  • Then select Profile > Sharing
  • Choose from the suggestions or add a new contact to share the Tractive GPS with.
  • Once you've selected a contact, hit the Send Invitation button to share your pet's location with a friend. If necessary, you may limit the sharing period to 24 hours. Note: Only enter an email address associated with the Tractive GPS account of your friend.
  • After pressing Send the invite will be sent out and your friend must accept the share invite to get access to the location. The invite is sent out via email and as a push notification. 
  • To unshare your tracker with a friend, open up the sharing screen again, select the desired friend and tap the 3 dots on the right-hand side. Select Remove.

 

In the Tractive GPS web app:

  • Sign into the Tractive GPS web app at my.tractive.com.
  • Click on the iimg.png  icon next to the desired pet/tracker to view the tracker settings.
  • Select Sharing. Here you can send friends a share invite via email to view your pet's tracker. Note: Only enter an email address associated with the Tractive GPS account of your friend.
  • After pressing Send the invite will be sent out and your friend must accept the share invite to get access to the location. The invite is sent out via email and as a push notification.
  • Every invite you send out will be listed in the sharing menu of the web app:
    • Expired or manually restricted invites will be shown as inactive.
    • Pending requests have the option to resend the invitation link.
    • Active shares are shown either with the remaining time or as active. 
  • To remove a share, click the trash can symbol next to the entry in the list of active shares. 

 

What can the receiver of the share do? 

With this share option, the receiver will be able to do the following:

  • View the current location of the pet and start LIVE Tracking.
  • View the current tracker status, including the battery level.
  • View the tracker ID and pet details.
  • Activate the sound and light options (when available).
  • View the unlimited location history of the pet/tracker.
  • Remove the tracker from the receiver's own account (remove share).
  • Receive notifications related to the shared tracker.
  • Use the Direction to Tracker (Compass) and Augmented Reality features of the app.

The receiver will not have permission to edit the Virtual Fence of the shared tracker, and will not be able to view the subscription plan or user account data connected to the shared tracker. 

Sign up for the Tractive Newsletter

We'll never share your email address and you can opt out at any time, we promise.