How to share your tracker with a friend

This feature is only available with Tractive Premium service.

In order to share your tracker with a friend and to give them access to the location please proceed as follows:

Open up the Tractive GPS App on your Apple device, navigate to the sidebar and select the little "i" next to the tracker you want to share.

In the next menu you will find an headline called "Premium Features"; there you will also find an entry for the sharing option you need to select.

If you open the device sharing settings you'll see a list of all the active, pending and expired sharing attempts you have on your account. If you've never shared one of your devices the list will be empty.

Additionally, you can add a sharing partner with the "+" on the upper right corner of your screen.

If you've given the Tractive App access to your smartphone contacts you can now select an email address out of your contact list, that will show up onscreen.

If you don't want to give the app access to your contacts, you can also enter an email address manually.

After pressing "Invite" on the upper right corner of the navigation bar you'll be shown the option to share the tracker for 24 hours only or indefinitely. If you choose the latter you'll need to remove it manually should you ever want to restrict access.

After selecting one of the above options the invite will be sent out and your friend needs to accept it to get access to the location.

The invite is sent out via email and as a push notification. That means that your friend will receive an email with a link to accept the invite. If the invitees have already opened up the app they'll receive the invite directly on the phone, which gives them instant access.

As mentioned before you'll need to restrict the access to your tracker manually, should you, for whatever reason decide to undo the sharing.

You can find that option in the sharing menu of your tracker.

Just swipe to the left on the list entry you want to delete and the option for removing the share is going to appear.

 


In order to share your tracker with a friend and to give them access to the location please proceed as follows:

Open up the Tractive GPS App on your Android device, navigate to the sidebar and select the little "i" next to the tracker you want to share.

In the next menu you'll find a list with all the options and adjustments for your tracker. There's also an entry for the sharing option you need to select.

If you open the device sharing settings you'll see a list of all the active, pending and expired sharing attempts you have on your account. If you've never shared one of your devices the list will be empty.

Additionally, you can add a sharing partner with the big red "+" on the lower right corner of your screen.

There're also some suggested contacts that you might be interested in sharing your tracker with.

If you hit the big red plus there will be a popup to enter the email address of your friend. There's a checkbox which you can use to share the tracker for 24 hours only. The tracker will automatically be removed from your friend's map once the 24 hours are over. If you don't tick that option you'll need to restrict the access yourself if you need to.

After pressing "Send" the invite will be sent out and your friend needs to accept it to get access to the tracker's location.

The invite is sent out via email and as a push notification. That means that your friend will receive an email with a link to accept the invite. If the invitees have already opened up the app they'll receive the invite directly on the phone, which gives them instant access.

Your friend will still receive a push notification if the app is closed: The invite can be accepted in the notification center too.

As mentioned before you'll need to restrict the access to your tracker manually, should you, for whatever reason decide to undo the sharing.

You can find that option in the sharing menu of your tracker.

Just tap onto the three dots next to an actively shared tracker

A new menu will open up from the bottom, from where you can restrict the access to your tracker (Remove)

 


In order to share your tracker with a friend of yours and to give them access to the location please proceed as followed:

Visit our Webapp at http://my.tractive.com and login.

You can find all your activated GPS trackers in the sidebar on the left-hand side.

In order to share your tracker you need to click onto the share icon next to the battery pictogram.

A new window will appear on-screen where you can specify the email address of the friend you want your tracker to be shared with.

There's a checkbox which you can use to share the tracker for 24 hours only. The tracker will automatically be removed from your friends map once the 24 hours are over. If you don't tick that option you'll need to restrict the access yourself if you need to.

After pressing "Send" the invite will be sent out and your friend needs to accept it to get access to the tracker's location.

The invite is sent out via email and as a Push notification. That means that your friend will receive an email with a link to accept the invite. If the invitees have already opened up their app on their smartphone they'll receive the invite directly on their phone, which gives them instant access.

Every invite you send out will be listed in the sharing menu of your Webapp.

  • Expired or manually restricted invites will be shown with an "inactive" tag.
  • Pending requests have the option to resend the invitation link.
  • Active shares are shown either with the remaining time or as active. 

As mentioned before you'll need to restrict the access to your tracker manually, should you, for whatever reason decide to undo the sharing.

In order to do that you just need to click the  next to the entry in the list. 

To improve our products we ask you to review the new Sharing feature. You're welcome to fill out the short form below after you've tried it out. Thank you for your feedback!