[iOS] How to share your tracker with a friend

This feature is only available with a Tractive Premium service.

In order to share your tracker with a friend of yours and to give them access to the location please proceed as follows:

Open up the Tractive GPS App on your Apple device, navigate to the sidebar and select the little "i" next to the tracker you want to share.

In the next menu you will find an "headline" called "Premium Features" there you will find also an entry for the sharing option you need to select.

If you open the device sharing settings you'll see a list of all the active, pending and expired sharing attempts you have on your account. If you've never shared one of your devices the list will be empty.

Additionally, you can add a sharing partner with the "+" on the upper right corner of your screen.

If you've given the Tractive App access to your smartphone contacts you can now select an email address out of your contact list, that will show up onscreen.

If you don't want to give the app access to your contacts, it will be fine. You can also enter an email address manually.

After pressing "Invite" on the upper right corner of the navigation bar you'll be shown the option to share the tracker for 24 hours only or indefinitely. If you choose the latter you'll need to remove it manually should you ever want to restrict access.

After selecting one of the above options the invite will be sent out and your friend needs to accept it to get access to the location.

The invite is sent out via email and as a push notification. That means that your friend will receive an email with a link to accept the invite. If the invitees have already opened up the app they'll receive the invite directly on the phone, which gives them instant access.

As mentioned before you'll need to restrict the access to your tracker manually, should you, for whatever reason decide to undo the sharing.

You can find that option in the sharing menu of your tracker.

Just swipe to the left on the list entry you want to delete and the option for removing the share is going to appear.

 


To improve our products we want you to review the new Sharing Feature. You're welcome to fill out the short form I attached to the blog post after you tried it out.