In the Tractive Dog Walk App, you can share your daily dog walk in real time with your friends on social media or via a direct message in the app of your choice. Follow this step-by-step guide to use the public sharing feature.
What is the Public Sharing feature?
The public sharing feature is a simple new way to interact with your friends and family. It can be used to share your current walk and let your friends know where you are and what you're doing right now.
How does it work?
To use the Public Sharing Feature, you need to start and record a new walk with the Dog Walk app.
Once activated, the Dog Walk App will sync your current position with the Tractive Networks. In return, you'll receive a link which you can share among your friends to let them know about your Dog Walk. They'll see your path and any photos you take or share along the way!
Do my friends have to use the Dog Walk App to follow me?
That's the amazing part. Your friends don't have to download the App or even have a Tractive account. Simply share the link with them.
We've created a new website just for visualizing your Live Walk. That also means that you don't have to send out invites which have to be accepted.
All you need to do is share the private link with the people you'd like to share the walk with. You can share it with any service you have installed on your smartphone (e.g. Twitter, Facebook, Whatsapp, ...)
Privacy concerns and location sharing
There's no need to worry about your privacy. The Sharing feature will only send data to our networks when you decide to activate it.
In addition, the link you'll receive is a private link. Only you and the people you share it with will have access to it. The link cannot be found via Google or any other search engine and has a secret id which cannot be guessed by another person.
How to activate the Public Sharing Feature?
In order to share your walk live, you have to start a normal Dog Walk like always.
After you hit the Start button you can press the Share option at the upper right screen:
In case the accuracy of your GPS sensor is too low to accurately get a GPS position, you will see the following message pop up on your screen:
Once your device has received a proper GPS signal you will be shown the system dialog below in order to select the app through which you'd like to share the walk.